Skip to content

Monica Canilao

Monica Canilao (1984) est une artiste américaine qui vit et travaille à Oakland, en Californie. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts du California College of Arts and Crafts et a depuis exposé son travail dans des galeries et des espaces publics à l’échelle internationale.

Monica Canilao art: des compositions intrigantes 

Monica Canilao considère sa pratique comme une archive d’informations ou de documentation historique basée sur ses expériences personnelles, qu’elle montre à travers des processus tels que la peinture, l’impression et la couture. L’artiste est guidée spirituellement en cueillant des objets ordinaires, éphémères pour certains, pour réaliser des compositions intrigantes

Les expositions et les festivals les plus importants 

Canilao a aussi réalisé des installations d’Art Public à grande échelle au Miami Art Basel.

Elle a exposé dans des espaces communautaires et des lieux abandonnés partout dans le monde, mais aussi dans des galeries, des festivals et des projets publics au niveau international tels que: San Diego Art Fair (États Unis, 2014), Public art project pour DC 5 × 5 à Washington DC 2012, ‘Monica Canilao with Kyle Ranson’ à Kretz, Malamo, (Suède, 2011), Sugar Mountain Festival, Forum Theatre à Melbourne (Australie, 2011), Outside Lands festival à San Francisco (Californie, 2011) et ‘Sold out’ à la White Walls Gallery (Californie, 2006), au Musée d’Art et Histoire de Santa Cruz et à la New Image Art. Monica, avec Xara Thustra, peindra l’entrée de la Great Hall du musée d’Oakland

Exposition connexe

Aucune exposition associée n'a été trouvée

Article similaire

Aucun article associé n'a été trouvé

Skip to content

Monica Canilao

Monica Canilao (1984) is an American artist living and working in Oakland, California. She received a BFA from California College of Arts and Crafts and she then went on to display her work in galleries and public spaces internationally.

Intriguing compositions

Canilao considers her practice as an archive of information or historical documentation based on personal experiences, which she displays through processes such as painting, printing and stitching. The artist is spiritually driven, collecting ordinary items that are ephemeral to some to create intriguing compositions.

Most important festivals and exhibitions

Canilao has also created large-scale public art installations at Miami Art Basel.

She has presented in community spaces and abandoned places worldwide, but also in galleries, festivals and public projects internationally such as: San Diego Art Fair (USA, 2014), Public art project for DC 5×5 in Washington D.C 2012, ‘Monica Canilao with Kyle Ranson’ at Kretz, Malamo, (Sweden, 2011), Sugar Mountain Festival, Forum Theater in Melbourne (Australia, 2011), Outside Lands festival in San Francisco (California, 2011) and ‘Sold Out’ at White Walls Gallery (California, 2006). She has exhibits up at the Santa Cruz Museum of Art &History and at New Image Art. Monica, along with Xara Thustra, will be painting the entryway to the Great Hall at Oakland Museum.

Related Exhibition

Monica Canilao, Escif, Peter Fend, Emiliano Ponzi
Rome
from 29th September till 31st October 2012
from Wednestady to Saturday, 5 – 8 PM

Related Post

No related post were found