Skip to content

JonOne – Vibrations

WK_JonOne_Portrait_2018_creditsGwenLeBras
WK_JonOne_Studio_creditsGwenLeBras
DCIM100MEDIADJI_0005.JPG
previous arrow
next arrow

Exhibition's Information

Opening:

Show dates:

Location:

Opening hours:

Artist:

Join the event on Facebook:

8 septembre 2021
8 septembre - 9 octobre
Milan, 2 Rue Nerino, 202123
Du mardi au samedi, 10-14; 15-19
JonOne

Opening:

8 septembre 2021

Show dates:

8 septembre - 9 octobre

Location:

Milan, 2 Rue Nerino, 202123

Opening hours:

Du mardi au samedi, 10-14; 15-19

Artist:

JonOne

La nouvelle exposition de JonOne Vibrations ouvre à Milan le 8 septembre.

Jusqu’au 9 octobre, la galerie Wunderkammern expose des toiles inédites du maître de l’expressionnisme de rue.

Après l’exposition personnelle Niente Può Fermarmi au Palazzo Velli (Rome, 2018), JonOne retourne en Italie. Dans les locaux milanais de la Gallerie Wunderkammern (via Nerino 2), l’énergie des toiles inédites de John Andrew Perello réalisées spécialement pour l’exposition Vibrations explose.

L’objectif de John Perello aka JonOne a toujours été, et encore plus depuis que le monde a retrouvé un rythme de vie semblable à celui d’avant la crise sanitaire, de faire vibrer les spectateurs devant ses œuvres, de ne pas les laisser observer passivement ses tableaux de gauche à droite, mais de surprendre leur regard pour les aider à percevoir les sensations qu’offre l’art.

Vibrations présente une série de nouvelles œuvres que l’artiste a conçues comme de véritables explosions de couleurs. Perello a contenu en elles à la fois l’univers chromatique caribéen de son enfance et l’énergie nécessaire pour contrôler le flux de gestes requis pour créer ses œuvres. Ce qui unit toutes les peintures exposées, c’est en effet une énergie extraordinaire, une vibration, un frisson irrépressible qui vient de l’artiste et anime les surfaces blanches à travers la matière picturale, l’intersection des lignes et la calligraphie. La combinaison de ces éléments, si elle frappe les bonnes notes, fait vibrer le spectateur d’émotion.

Mais Vibrations est aussi une réflexion d’un artiste affirmé sur sa propre identité et sur la capacité des êtres humains à se regarder dans le miroir, à évaluer leur propre chemin dans une tentative – pas toujours réussie – de rester fidèles à eux-mêmes.

Dans les œuvres exposées à Milan, on peut entrevoir le chemin de l’artiste, qui mélange graffiti new-yorkais et expressionnisme abstrait dans un langage très personnel, créant des toiles uniques et pleines de couleurs.

John Andrew Perello (New York, 1963) – alias JonOne – est né et a été élevé à Harlem par des parents dominicains et à l’âge de 16 ans, il marquait déjà son nom partout, dans des carnets, dans la rue, sur les trains. Ses premiers graffitis, signés de l’ancien nom Jon156 (le numéro de sa maison), couvraient les murs de son quartier, défiant et brisant les règles de la société américaine avec le groupe 156 All Starz, un crew fondé par l’artiste en 1984. Quelques années plus tard, il s’installe à Paris, la ville où il vit et travaille actuellement et qui lui a apporté un succès international. C’est là que ses graffitis sont enfin considérés comme de véritables œuvres d’art et gagnent le droit d’être exposés. Pendant plusieurs années, à l’Hôpital éphémère – nom donné à un squat officiellement installé, entre 1990 et 1995, dans les locaux de l’hôpital Bretonneau -, John a ouvert son premier atelier et, en peu de temps, a attiré l’attention des curieux et des galeristes, pour finalement exposer dans d’importantes galeries d’art et dans des institutions prestigieuses, telles que la Fondation Cartier et le Grand Palais.  L’artiste a également réalisé de nombreuses collaborations avec différentes marques et labels tels que Perrier, Lacoste, Guerlain et Air France, mais la reconnaissance la plus importante a eu lieu en 2015, lorsqu’il a été décoré de la Légion d’honneur par la République française et que son œuvre « Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité », inspirée de La Liberté qui guide le peuple de Delacroix, a été exposée au Palais Bourbon, siège de l’Assemblée nationale. 

La galerie Wunderkammern a le plaisir de vous inviter à l’inauguration de l’exposition le 8 septembre à via Nerino 2, Milan. Les modalités de participation seront influencées par la situation pandémique, nous vous invitons à consulter notre site www.wunderkammern.net, où nous fournirons toutes les indications.

Partenaire culturel: Institut Français

Partenaires Médias: Widewalls, Collateral, Artuu, FACE Magazine, myMilano

Send me the catalogue

Related Artists

No related exhibition were found

Skip to content

JonOne – Vibrations

WK_JonOne_Portrait_2018_creditsGwenLeBras
WK_JonOne_Studio_creditsGwenLeBras
DCIM100MEDIADJI_0005.JPG
previous arrow
next arrow

Exhibition's Information

Opening:

Show dates:

Location:

Opening hours:

Artist:

Join the event on Facebook:

September 8th 2021
September 8th - October 9th
Milano, via Nerino 2, 202123
From Tuesday to Saturday, 10am-2pm, 3pm-7pm
JonOne

Opening:

September 8th 2021

Show dates:

September 8th - October 9th

Location:

Milano, via Nerino 2, 202123

Opening hours:

From Tuesday to Saturday, 10am-2pm, 3pm-7pm

Artist:

JonOne

JonOne’s new exhibition Vibrations opens in Milan on September 8th.

Unseen canvases by the master of street expressionism at the Wunderkammern Gallery until October 9th.

After the solo exhibition Niente Può Fermarmi at Palazzo Velli (Rome, 2018) JonOne returns to Italy. At the Milan venue of Wunderkammern Gallery (2, Nerino street), the energy of John Andrew Perello’s unpublished canvases made especially for the exhibition Vibrations explodes.

John Perello aka JonOne’s aim has always been to make viewers vibrate in front of his works. This is even more relevant now that the world regained a pace of life similar to that before the health crisis. The artist does not let them calmly observe his paintings from left and right, but he desires to surprise their gaze to help them perceive the sensations that art can offer.

Vibrations presents a series of new works that the artist has conceived as veritable explosions of colour. Perello has enclosed within them both the Caribbean chromatic universe of his childhood and the energy necessary to control the flow of gestures required to create his works. What all the canvases in the exhibition have in common is an extraordinary energy, a vibration, an uncontainable thrill that springs from the artist and animates the white surfaces through the pictorial material, the intersection of the lines and the calligraphy. The combination of these elements, if it strikes the right notes, makes the viewer vibrate with emotion.

Vibrations is also a reflection by an established artist on his own identity and on the ability of human beings to look in the mirror, to evaluate their own path in the attempt – not always successful – to remain true to themselves.

In the works exhibited in Milan, in fact, one can glimpse the path of the artist, who mixes New York graffiti and Abstract Expressionism in a very personal language, creating unique canvases full of colour.

John Andrew Perello (New York, 1963) – aka JonOne – was born and raised in Harlem by Dominican parents and by the age of 16 was already tagging his name everywhere, on notebooks, streets, and trains. His first graffiti, signed with the old name Jon156 (his house number), covered the walls of the neighbourhood, challenging and breaking the rules of American society together with the group 156 All Starz, a crew founded by the artist himself in 1984. A few years later he moved to Paris, the city where he currently lives and works, which brought him international success. It was here that his graffiti was finally considered real works of art and earned the right to be exhibited. For several years, in the Hôpital éphémère – the name given to a squat officially established, between 1990 and 1995, in the premises of the Bretonneau hospital -, John opened his first artist’s studio and, in a short time, attracted the attention of curious onlookers and gallery owners. Then, he was able to exhibit in important art galleries and prestigious institutions, such as the Fondation Cartier and the Grand Palais. The artist has also carried out numerous collaborations with various brands and labels of the calibre of Perrier, Lacoste, Guerlain and Air France, but the most important recognition came in 2015, when he was awarded the Legion of Honour by the French Republic and his work “Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité”, inspired by Delacroix’s “Liberty Leading the People”, was exhibited at the Bourbon Palace, home of the Assemblée Nationale.

Wunderkammern Gallery is pleased to invite you to the opening of the exhibition on September 8th in 2, Nerino street, Milan. The way of participation will be influenced by the pandemic situation, we will soon provide all indications.

Cultural partner: Institut Français

Media Partners: Widewalls, Collateral, Artuu, FACE Magazine, myMilano

Send me the catalogue

Related Artists